Local Government Elections

The Mayor and Council Members are each elected for four year terms, with half of the elected members being elected every biennial election.

The City of Vincent Council is made up of nine Elected Members:

  • Mayor - represents the entire district.
  • Council Members – North Ward (4).
  • Council Members – South Ward (4).

The next local government election will take place on Saturday 21 October 2023. The City of Vincent holds postal elections, which are conducted by the Western Australian Electoral Commission.

In 2023, local government elections in WA will move to optional preferential voting. It's similar to how voting is done in State and Federal elections. 

The role of Council Members is very important in our democratic system. Local government elections are an opportunity for electors of the district to become part of local government decision making and represent their community.