Local Government Elections

Local government elections are held every two years, on the third Saturday in October. 

The last local government election was on 21 October 2023. The next local government election will be held on 18 October 2025.

The Mayor and Council Members are each elected for four year terms, with half of the elected members being elected every biennial election.

The City of Vincent Council is made up of nine Elected Members:

  • Mayor - represents the entire district;
  • Council Members – North Ward (4); and
  • Council Members – South Ward (4).

The City of Vincent holds postal elections conducted by the Western Australian Electoral Commission. Local government elections use an optional preferential voting system, similar to how voting is done in state and federal elections.

The role of Council Members is very important in our democratic system. Local government elections are an opportunity for electors of the district to become part of local government decision making and represent their community.

Was this page helpful?