Local Government Elections

The role of Council Members is very important in our democratic system. Local government elections are an opportunity for electors of the district to become part of local government decision making and represent their community.

The City of Vincent Council is made up of nine Elected Members:

  • Mayor - represents the entire district;
  • Council Members – North Ward (4); and
  • Council Members – South Ward (4).

Local government elections are held every two years, on the third Saturday in October. The next election is 19 October 2019. The Mayor and Council Members are each elected for four year terms, with half of the elected members being elected every biennial election.

The City of Vincent holds postal elections, which are conducted by the Western Australian Electoral Commission using a ‘first past the post voting system’. This means the candidate with the highest number of votes wins and there are no preferences allocated.

Election packages are posted to all electors on the City of Vincent electoral roll approximately three weeks before election day (19 October 2019). The packages can be returned by mail or hand delivered and placed in a sealed ballot box at the City's Administration Centre until 6pm on election day.

Replacement ballot papers are available for registered electors at the City’s Administration Centre.

The count commences at 6pm on election day (19 October 2019) at the City of Vincent Administration Centre and results are usually declared later that evening and available on the Western Australian Electoral Commission's website.

More Information

Local Government Election information - WA Electoral Commission

Requirements for Elected Members - Local Government Act 1995

Local Government Forms and Guides - WA Electoral Commission

Local Government Election Fact Sheets - Department Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries

Local Government Elections - Department Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries

Related Links

2019 Elections

Nominating for Council

Election Signage

Election Gifts

Enrolling to Vote

Postal Election Timetable

Candidate Information Session

Webinar registration 

Online induction for candidates

Council Election Period Policy

Voluntary Code of Conduct for Candidates 

Frequently Asked Questions