Print, share or email this page

2012-13 Building Design and Conservation Awards - winners announced!

News Date: (29 July, 2013)

Excellence in built form is alive and well in Vincent with the four award categories showing off some great examples of building ingenuity within a challenging inner-city municipality.   

Last night, Mayor Alannah MacTiernan announced the winners at a special event here at the City. The biennial awards promote design excellence and recognise and celebrate the efforts of all those involved in the design, construction and conservation of Vincent’s buildings. 

The City’s sustainability and 'sense of place' can be attributed to the buildings which are designed by architects, realised by builders and cared for or reinvented by property owners and organisations. The awards are open to all property owners, residents, businesses and interest groups within Vincent, and also to architects, designers, builders and government agencies. 

The awards began in 1996 to celebrate conservation of heritage buildings within the City of Vincent; over the years they’ve evolved to include best design in 1999 and more recently sustainable design. This year there are four award categories:

  1. Building Design Excellence Award (Single/Group Dwellings)
  2. Sustainable Design Award
  3. Conservation – Municipal Heritage Inventory Award
  4. Character Conservation and Sustainable Re-use

Mayor MacTiernan says, “It’s been a brilliant experience to visit the homes entered in the competition and see the creativity and effort of our community. We were so impressed that we created a new category to allow for more entrants to be awarded.

"Challenges to meet new environmental considerations and planning requirements have meant a greater consideration to both design concept and construction, and tonight we see some great examples in response to this," said the Mayor. 

The judges of this year’s awards were Carmel Van Ruth, Senior Architecture Officer for the Office of Government Architect; Alex Bruce of eTool; Vincent Mayor Alannah MacTiernan and Vincent Councillors, Dudley Maier and John Pintabona. The quality of submissions was high, resulting in much debate and discussion amongst the judges.

The successful winners for the Building Design and Conservation Awards 2012/13 are as follows: 

Please click here to view the winners' certificates which include a photo of the winning property. 

Building Design Excellence Award
(Single/Group Dwellings)

For: the construction of new buildings that display excellence in construction and design achievement

Prize - $1,000

Architect: Joe Chindarsi
Address: 27 Richmond Street, North Perth

Prize – $500

Architect: Adrian Iredale, Iredale Pedersen Hook Architects

Address: 127 Matlock Street, Mount Hawthorn

Winner of the Building Design Excellence Award was Joe Chindarsi for the Richmond Street single dwelling. The extension contained bright and fresh architectural design, made great use of natural light via the many windows, and the extension added to the corner shop which had been cleverly transformed into a photography studio. 

The commendation for this category was awarded to Adrian Iredale for his single dwelling at 127 Matlock Street, Mount Hawthorn. The intriguing angles of the ceiling in this extension provide a visual amenity to the homeowners and the extension’s south facing window offers an attractive, portrait of the changing sky.


Sustainable Design Award

For: the construction and/or adaptation of buildings that incorporate sustainable design initiatives

Prize – $1,000

Architect: Patrick Hubble and Sid Thoo
Address: 211 Brisbane Street, Perth

Prize - $500

Project Coordinator: Griff Morris
Address: 35 Pennant Street, North Perth

Winner of the Sustainable Design Award was Patrick Hubble and Sid Thoo for the design and coordination of the Brisbane Street single dwelling. The translucent walls and insulation surrounding the staircase of this home makes the most of the winter sun to supply thermal mass heating in this home.

Griff Morris received a commendation in this category for the alterations made to the single dwelling at 35 Pennant Street: the careful orientation of this home provides natural light and heating to living areas whilst the northern location of the master bedroom’s ensuite welcomes natural light and hence, hygienic drying.


Conservation – Municipal Heritage Inventory Award

Recognises works undertaken to improve and care for places which are included on the City of Vincent Municipal Heritage Inventory

Prize – $1,000

Project Coordinators: Geoffrey and Marian Cooper
Address: 3 Glebe Street, North Perth

Encouraged to re-enter when the conservation works are complete.

Project Coordinator: Lynda Quinn
Address: 109 Alma Road, North Perth

The Conservation – Municipal Heritage Inventory Award – recognises the practice of sound conservation principles that have long-lasting benefits. Marian and Geoffrey Cooper won this category for 3 Glebe Street, restoring it over the course of 20 years to a fine example of a Federation Queen Anne bungalow. Their research was extensive, providing appropriate colour schemes for the period and the restoration works including tuck pointing of the facade and replacement of the roof. 

The judges awarded a commendation in this category to Lynda Quinn for the conservation works to her Alma Road dwelling. The private open space element was extensive and impressive; the integration between this heritage property and the new addition to the rear was flawless.


Character Conservation and Sustainable Re-use

Recognises works undertaken to improve and care for places which have created the character of the established suburbs within the City of Vincent

Prize – $1,000

Project Coordinators: Simon Buswell-Smith & Fiona Hope
Address: 192 Anzac Road, Mount Hawthorn

The final category - Character Conservation and Sustainable Re-Use - was awarded to Fiona Hope and Simon Buswell-Smith for their design and coordination of the extensions to their Anzac Road single dwelling. The incredible craftsmanship conveyed by this extension impressed the judges and the addition to the character home cleverly adapts the rear of the property.

Administration and Civic Centre

244 Vincent Street (cnr Loftus Street)

Leederville, Western Australia, 6007

PO Box 82, Leederville, 6902

Telephone: (08) 9273 6000

Fax: (08) 9273 6099


After Hours: (08) 9273 6061 - emergencies only