

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF ELECTORS

Minutes

31 January 2017

ENHANCING AND CELEBRATING OUR DIVERSE COMMUNITY

This document is available in other formats and languages.

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of Electors of the City of Vincent held at the Administration and Civic Centre, 244 Vincent Street (cnr Loftus Street), Leederville, on Tuesday 31 January 2017 commencing at 6.00pm.

1. (a) DECLARATION OF OPENING

The Presiding Member, Deputy Mayor Roslyn Harley, declared the meeting open at 6:05pm and read the following Acknowledgement of Country Statement:

(b) ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY STATEMENT

"Today we meet on the lands of the Nyoongar people and we honour them as the traditional custodians of this land".

2. APOLOGIES/MEMBERS ON APPROVED LEAVE OF ABSENCE

(a) Apologies:

Nil.

(b) Members on Approved Leave of Absence:

Nil.

(c) Present:

Cr Roslyn Harley (Deputy Mayor) Presiding Member

Cr Matt Buckels
Cr Emma Cole
Cr Dan Loden
Cr Susan Gontaszewski
Cr Jimmy Murphy
Cr Joshua Topelberg
North Ward
South Ward
South Ward
South Ward

Len KosovaChief Executive OfficerRick LotznickerDirector Technical ServicesJohn CorbelliniDirector Development ServicesJohn PatonDirector Corporate Services

Rosslind Ellis Manager Marketing and Communications

Tim Evans Manager Governance & Risk

Emma Simmons Governance & Council Support Officer

Media

David Bell Journalist – Perth Voice

4 Electors as follows:

Greg Johnson, Mount Hawthorn; Marie Slyth, West Perth; Malcom Boyd, Mount Hawthorn; Jennine Bywaters, Highgate;

3. Reports

3.1 2015/2016 Annual Report (including Financial Report 2015/2016)

Ward:	Both	Date:	31 January 2017
Precinct:	All	File Ref:	SC165
Attachments:	<u>1</u> – Annual Report 2015/2016		
Tabled Items:			
Reporting Officer:	Tim Evans, Manager Governance and Risk		
Responsible Officer:	Len Kosova, Chief Executive Officer		

The City of Vincent's 2015/2016 Annual Report was presented to the Annual General Meeting of Electors for discussion and the Presiding Member, Deputy Mayor Cr Roslyn Harley invited electors to raise any questions or comments relating to the Annual Report 2015/16.

No questions or comments were received

4. GENERAL BUSINESS

4.1 Greg Johnson – Mt Hawthorn

Mr Johnson submitted the following motion

Moved Mr Johnson Seconded Mr Boyd

That Council ENSURE the views of the business community, in particular the retailers in the Mount Hawthorn precinct, are considered in the current parking survey and an economic impact statement be an integrated component of the outcome.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY (4/0)

In accordance with section 5.33 of the Local Government Act 1995, this motion will be considered by Council at the next practical Ordinary Council Meeting on 7 March 2017.

4.2 Marie Slyth - West Perth

Ms Slyth submitted the following questions all of which were taken on notice and will be answered in the report to be presented to Council on 7 March 2017 regarding the Annual General Meeting of Electors

- 1. Will the City of Vincent be providing community bus excursions for its elderly residents?
- 2. Has support for the heritage grants been cut back? Please can I get an explanation?
- 3. Has the City of Vincent considered getting involved in the Silver Sport initiative?
- 4. Will the City be implementing more advanced computer courses for its elderly residents?

Ms Slyth also commented that the City's customer service levels had been declining and needed to be improved.

5. CLOSURE

There being no further General Business, the Presiding Member, Deputy Mayor Roslyn Harley thanked the Electors, members of the public, Council Members and Officers for their attendance and declared the meeting closed at 6.22pm with the following persons present:

•				
	Cr Roslyn Harley (Deputy Mayor)	Presiding Member		
	Cr Matt Buckels Cr Emma Cole Cr Dan Loden Cr Susan Gontaszewski Cr Jimmy Murphy Cr Joshua Topelberg	North Ward North Ward North Ward South Ward South Ward South Ward		
	Len Kosova Rick Lotznicker John Corbellini John Paton Rosslind Ellis Tim Evans Emma Simmons	Chief Executive Officer Director Technical Services Director Development Services Director Corporate Services Manager Marketing and Communications Manager Governance & Risk Governance & Council Support Officer		
	Media David Bell	Journalist – Perth Voice		
	4 Electors as follows:			
	Greg Johnson, Mount Hawthorn; Marie Slyth, West Perth; Malcom Boyd, Mount Hawthorn; Jennine Bywaters, Highgate;			
These Minutes are confirmed by the Council as a true and accurate record of the Annual General Meeting of Electors held on 31 January 2017.				
Signed:Presiding Member Cr Roslyn Harley (Deputy Mayor)				
Dated this day of				