

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF ELECTORS

Minutes

27 January 2015

ENHANCING AND CELEBRATING OUR DIVERSE COMMUNITY

This document is available in other formats and languages.

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of Electors of the City of Vincent held at the Administration and Civic Centre, 244 Vincent Street (cnr Loftus Street), Leederville, on Tuesday 27 January 2015 commencing at 6.00pm.

1. (a) DECLARATION OF OPENING

The Presiding Member, Mayor John Carey, declared the meeting open at 6.00pm and read the following Acknowledgement of Country Statement:

(b) ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY STATEMENT

"Today we meet on the lands of the Nyoongar people and we honour them as the traditional custodians of this land".

2. APOLOGIES/MEMBERS ON APPROVED LEAVE OF ABSENCE

(a) Apologies:

Cr James Peart South Ward
Cr Julia Wilcox North Ward

(b) Members on Approved Leave of Absence:

Nil.

(c) Present:

Mayor John Carey Presiding Member

Cr Roslyn Harley (Deputy Mayor) North Ward

Cr Matt Buckels North Ward (from 6.02pm)
Cr Emma Cole North Ward (from 6.01pm)

Cr Laine McDonald South Ward
Cr John Pintabona South Ward
Cr Joshua Topelberg South Ward

Len Kosova Chief Executive Officer
Rick Lotznicker Director Technical Services

Rob Boardman Acting Director Community Services
Jacinta Anthony Acting Director Corporate Services

Gabriela Poezyn Director Planning Services

Jerilee Highfield Executive Assistant, Minutes Secretary

9 Electors as follows:

Giulietta Sinagra – 67&69 Carr Street Charles Sinagra – 69 Carr Street Colin Scott 17 Deague Court Alf Parolo, 76 Cleaver Street Dudley Maier, 51 Chatsworth Road Marie Slyth – 89 Carr Street Ian Ker – 92 Vincent Street Stuart Lofthouse – 3 Oxford Street Deborah Saunders – 150 Oxford Street

3. Reports

3.1 2013/2014 Annual Report (including Financial Report 2013/2014

Ward:	Both	Date:	23 January 2015
Precinct:	All	File Ref:	ADM0016
Attachments:	001 – Draft Annual Report 2013-2014		
Tabled Items:			
Reporting Officer:	Len Kosova, Chief Executive Officer		
Responsible Officer:	Len Kosova, Chief Executive	e Officer	

OFFICER RECOMMENDATION:

That the City of Vincent's 2013/2014 Annual Report be presented to the Annual General Meeting of Electors for discussion.

COUNCIL DECISION ITEM 3.1

Moved Cr Pintabona, Seconded Cr Harley

That the recommendation be adopted.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

(Cr Peart and Cr Wilcox were apologies for the Meeting.)

(Cr Buckels and Cr Cole had not yet arrived at the Meeting.)

4. GENERAL BUSINESS

4.1 Ms M Slyth – 89 Carr Street, West Perth

Ms Slyth presented 1 motion as listed below.

Moved Ms Slyth, Seconded Mr Parolo

That Council clarify its Planning Policy under the new TPS2 with regards to the permissible height of buildings on Newcastle Street, especially the Northern side.

4.2 Mr I Ker – 92 Vincent Street, Mt Lawley

Mr Ker presented 1 motion as listed below.

Moved Mr Ker, Seconded Mr Maier

That Council produce an addendum to the Annual Report 2013/2014 to include details of the City of Vincent activities related to Local Government Reform and the results of the plebiscite held in conjunction with the October 2013 Council Elections.

CARRIED

4.3 Mr C Scott – 17 Deague Court, North Perth

Mr Scott presented 1 motion as listed below.

Moved Mr Scott, Seconded Mr Ker

That Council bring forth a review on the funding for Tamala Park and how the funds are allocated in the future.

CARRIED

4.4 Mr D Maier – 51 Chatsworth Road, Highgate

Mr Maier presented 2 motions as listed below.

Moved Mr Maier, Seconded Ms Saunders

That Council give consideration to amending the heading block of reports in the council agenda to include a "Checked By" entry in addition to the "Reporting Officer" and "Responsible Officer".

CARRIED

Moved Mr Maier, Seconded Ms Saunders

That the community expresses its concern with the project management, project deliverables and quality of consultation by the City's Technical Services Directorate and requests that the CEO/Council considers replacing the Technical Services Directorate with a Community Assets Directorate (or something similar) in any future restructure, and that the structure of this directorate recognise that the quality of outcomes in the public domain is often governed by 'soft' elements such as landscaping, aesthetics and usability, rather than pure 'hard' engineering solutions.

CARRIED

4.5 Mr I Ker – 92 Vincent Street, Mt Lawley

Mr Ker presented 1 motion as listed below.

Moved Mr Ker, Seconded

That the community expresses its concern with the project management, project deliverables and quality of consultation by the City's Technical Services Directorate and requests that the CEO/Council consider means of improving the quality of specification design and delivery of projects including replacing the Technical Services Directorate.

PROPOSED AMENDMENT LAPSED FOR WANT OF A SECONDER

4.6 Ms D Saunders – 150 Oxford Street, Leederville

Ms Saunders presented 2 motions as listed below.

Moved Ms Saunders, Seconded Mr Lofthouse

That Council consider developing a program and listing an item in the 2015/2016 Budget for the culling of pigeons in Leederville.

CARRIED

Moved Ms Saunders, Seconded Mr Lofthouse

That Council consider the inclusion of a Clause within the Community Consultation Policy that would require consultation to happen again if there is an error in the first consultation phase.

CARRIED

4.7 Mr A Parolo – 76 Cleaver Street, West Perth

Mr Parolo presented 1 motion as listed below.

Moved Mr Parolo, Seconded Ms Slyth

That Council support the Cleaver Precinct in maintaining the strict TPS guidelines to protect the amenity of the area.

CARRIED

5. CLOSURE

There being no further General Business, the Presiding Member, Mayor John Carey thanked the Electors, members of the public, Council Members and Officers for their attendance and declared the meeting closed at 6.50 pm with the following persons present:

Mayor John Carey Presiding Member

Cr Roslyn Harley (Deputy Mayor) North Ward

Cr Matt Buckels
Cr Emma Cole
Cr Laine McDonald
Cr John Pintabona
Cr Joshua Topelberg
North Ward
South Ward
South Ward
South Ward

Len Kosova Chief Executive Officer
Rick Lotznicker Director Technical Services

Rob Boardman Acting Director Community Services
Jacinta Anthony Acting Director Corporate Services

Gabriela Poezyn Director Planning Services

Jerilee Highfield Executive Assistant, Minutes Secretary

9 Electors as follows:

Giulietta Sinagra – 67&69 Carr Street Charles Sinagra – 69 Carr Street Colin Scott 17 Deague Court Alf Parolo, 76 Cleaver Street Dudley Maier, 51 Chatsworth Road Marie Slyth – 89 Carr Street Ian Ker – 92 Vincent Street Stuart Lofthouse – 3 Oxford Street Deborah Saunders – 150 Oxford Street

These Minutes are confirmed by the Council as a true and accurate record of the Annual General Meeting of Electors held on 27 January 2015.

Signed:	Presiding Me	mber Mayor John Carey
	•	
Dated this	day of	2015