PURPOSE OF REPORT:

To provide an opportunity for Council Members to be nominated for and elected to external bodies, Advisory and Working groups.

BACKGROUND:

As part of the Council's role in governing for the City, Council Members represent the Council on a range of external bodies, Advisory and Working Groups. This report provided an opportunity for Council Members to be nominated to those groups and is also intended to satisfy the requirement set out in section 4.2(b) of Council's Policy 4.2.14 – Local Government Elections which states:

"At the first Ordinary Council meeting scheduled after the Swearing-in ceremony following an extraordinary Election, the Chief Executive Officer is to cause a report to be presented to the Council that provides opportunity for the newly Elected Councillor/s to be nominated and elected to a Committee of Council (in accordance with s.5.10(2) of the Local Government Act 1995) as well as to be nominated and elected as appropriate to any vacant positions as delegates to Advisory Groups and various organisations."

The table below lists the various external bodies, Advisory and Working Groups that the City's Council Members have an active role on behalf of the City of Vincent. It shows the membership configuration, the previous council members and the number of meetings held in the previous term.

Body	Membership	Previous Council Members	# Meetings (2015-2017 term)
Western Australian Local Government Association (WALGA) - Central Metropolitan Zone	Two (2) Council Members Two (2) Alternate Members	Cr Murphy 1 x vacancy Deputy 1 – Mayor Cole Deputy 2 - vacant	8
Vincent Accord	One (1) Council Member	Cr Roslyn Harley	7
Metropolitan Regional Road Group (MRRG) Central Technical Sub- Group	One (1) Council Member	Cr Buckels	2
Swan River Trust (only matters relating to City of Vincent)	One (1) Council Member	Cr Hallett	0
Arts Advisory Group	Three (3) Council Members Up to 10 Community Representatives	Cr Murphy (Chair) Cr Topelberg	4
Business Advisory Group	Three (3) Council Members 5 Business Representatives (from Town Teams) 3 Community Representatives	Cr Topelberg (Chair) Cr Murphy	5
Children and Young People Advisory Group	Up to Three (3) Council Members Up to 6 x Community Representatives	Cr Gontaszewski (Chair) Cr Buckels	8
Environmental Advisory Group	Up to Four (4) Council Members Up to 10 Community Representatives	Cr Loden (Chair) Cr Gontaszewski	10
Pedestrian and Cycling Advisory Group	Up to Three (3) Council Members Up to 6 x Community Representatives	Cr Buckels (Chair) Cr Hallett	7

Item 9.1 Page 78

Road Safety Advisory	Three (3) Council Members	Mayor Cole (Chair)	
Group	Up to 10 Community	Cr Hallett	5
	Representatives		
Safer Vincent Crime Prevention Partnership	Three (3) Council Members	Cr Gontaszewski (Chair) Cr Harley 7 x Community / External Representatives	7
Reconciliation Action Plan Working Group	Up to Two (2) Three (3) Council Members Up to 6 x Community Representatives	Cr Roslyn Harley (Chair) Cr Dan Loden	5
Parks People Working Group (PPWG)	One (1) Council Member	Mayor Cole	

In addition to the table above and for completeness, the table below shows the membership of other groups on which Council Members represent the City. Membership to Regional Councils, the Metro West Development Assessment Panel and the City's Audit Committee was determined at the Special Council Meeting on Tuesday 24 October 2017 and is not the subject of this report.

Table 2 - Summary of Memberships - Regional Councils, Development Assessment Panels and Audit Committee

Body	Current (or previous)	Term
	Membership	
Mindarie Regional Council	Mayor Emma Cole	21 October 2017 - 18 October 2019
Tamala Park Regional Council	Mayor Emma Cole	21 October 2017 - 18
	Alternate – Cr Murphy	October 2019*
Audit Committee	Cr Loden	21 October 2017 - 18
	Cr Topelberg*	October 2019*
	Cr Gontaszewski	
	Mayor Cole	
	Cr Harley	
	2 x External Members	
MetroWest Joint Development	Member 1 – Cr Loden	26 April 2017 – 26 April
Assessment Panel	Member 2 – Cr Topelberg	2020
	Alternate 1 – Cr Gontaszewski	
	Alternate 2 – Mayor Cole	

DETAILS:

There are several external bodies on which the City is represented by one or more Council Members. The details of these are listed below.

1. Western Australian Local Government Association (WALGA) - Central Metropolitan Zone (2 Council Members)

Meeting Occurrence: Bi-Monthly (or six weekly)

Date of Meeting: Thursday Time of Meeting: 6pm

Location of Meeting: Local Governments in the Central Metropolitan

Zone on a rotation basis

No. of Meetings held in 2015-2017 8 Meetings

Period:

Chief Executive Officer Responsible Liaison Officer:

Member Sitting Fees: Nil.

Item 9.1 Page 79